What should “I” be using on my hair?

Today, I have decided to dedicate my Tuesday’s Hair post to breaking down each natural hair type. I feel it is so important for every girl (and guys if you’re reading) to be familiar with their hair, so that they can give the best treatment, use the correct products and have the healthiest hair personally available. Inspired by my wonderful, no-name-mentioned and supportive friend who has recently had a child with afro hair, and another not sure how to tame her dryness, you know who you are… thank you for the idea. So here we go:

TYPE 4 – Afro/Kinky Hair

This is type 4C4c hair As shown by the picture, the curl pattern with 4c hair is very tight making it appear like there is almost no curl definition. It would be described as fluffy, and as some would describe it to mirror the look of cotton wool. 4C hair gets easily clumped without enough moisture, and when washed can shrink drastically. Just because your hair is thick, it does no mean that you are 4C, as It can range from fine/thin/super soft to wiry/coarse with lots of densely packed strands.

What should I be using for my hair? – If you have 4C hair, I would recommend keeping it very moisturised with oils such as single bible, virgin almond oil, virgin olive oil or whatever you prefer. If you are not a fan of oil, thick creams and butters work well. Try to moisten hair regularly to keep it soft. Do not use shampoos too regularly, and try to go for sulphate free shampoos as they can be very drying.

 

4b hairThis is type 4B – This ladies is my natural hair pattern before relaxing. Type 4B is said to have a bit more of a curl pattern, but it is still not truly defined. Hair strands resemble the letter Z. 4B hair is very wiry, very tightly coiled or bent and very, very fragile. Again described to look like cotton wool, and can also be seen as fluffy. Just as 4C hair, it can really shrink after washing.

What should I be using for my hair? – I would recommend using heavy cream cleansers, always condition and invest in a good leave in conditioner to help detangle it. Just as hair type 4C it is essential to keep it moist, so always seal in moisture with hair styling butters. For myself personally, I use an oil in the night and a cream such as dark and lovely, or pink for the day. Treatments are a must as hair can be fragile, so protein treatments and oil treatments are good.

 

4a hair2This is type 4A – Hair is a lot more moist and softer to the touch then 4C and 4B. 4A is described as having more of an S defined curl, but as shown is still fluffy as all type 4 hair types. This hair can be wiry and fine. It is also very fragile as it has less natural protection because it has fewer cuticle layers.

What should I be using on my hair? – Although a lot more moist than Type 4 counterparts, I would still advise keeping 4A hair very moist due to it being quite fragile. Good leave in conditioners to help detangle it would take away pulling and tugging of the hair – tangle teaser combs and detangling brushes are useful for this hair type too. Again, try and avoid shampoos with sulphates or anything else that can strip the hair, and a mixture of protein and oil treatments would be beneficial.

 

 

Type 3 – Curly Hair

4a hairThis is type 3c – as shown has tight volumous curls, that has moved on from fluffy to slightly more defined. The curls can still be quite kinky, or could be very defined curls. The hair is normally of a finer texture in comparison to type 4s, but is full of volume from curls.

What should I be using on my hair? – I would say moisturising shampoos, and rich and nourishing conditioners to keep hair strong. I would again recommend oils, moisturising creams and butters to keep hair moist, healthy and defined.

 

 

3b hairThis is type 3B – One would describe this hair as well defined, springy and bouncy hair. Just as 3C, this hair can be a challenge to straighten, and can often be quite rebellious. Coiled curls and ringlets would fit into this hair type. Texture can be quite course.

What should I be using on my hair? – To reduce frizz, I would recommend creams and gels. Moisture balancing shampoos and again leave in conditioners to fight against knotting and frizz. Tangle teaser combs and detangling brushes are again a must.

 

 

3a hairThis is type 3A – Hair has a definite S pattern, it is lighter, and more springy and the curls are quite big. Humidity can affect this hair type during both heat and rainy seasons. Described as bouncy, moveable and loose curls.

What should I be using on my hair? – Sulphate free shampoos and good leave in conditioners to define the curls and keep shine of hair. Products to achieve curl formation and definition are useful during humidity seasons. Would recommend gels and creams that provide a light moisture to keep hair light and bouncy.

 

Type 2 – Wavy Hair

2C hair2This is type 2C – A blend of curls and waves that is prone to frizzing. Some people with this hair type have an underlying of straight hair, others have a blend of ringlets within the waves.

What should I use on my hair? – Sulphate free shampoos and leave in conditioners. Conditioners specifically tailored to combatting frizz such as John Freidas Frizz ease conditioner is a good choice. Curl enhancing gels and light moisturisers are good investments for this hair type.

 

 

type 2bThis is type 2B – What I would call full on wavey hair. It has a bit more of an S shaped definition as opposed to a Z like 2C. Would not be considered bouncy, but falls heavier away from all previous hair types. This hair is a little resitant to styling and is at risk of frizzing.

What should I be using on my hair? – Be sure to use sulphate free shampoos to get more definition and body to hair. Light weight conditioners and moisturising products. Perfectly suitable for mousses and gels.

 

 

2a hairThis is type 2A – gentle waves, pushing more straight with a slight wave pattern. Type 2A hair is usually fine, and thin and easily controlled.

What should I use on my hair? I would recommend lighter products such as mousse, lotions or gels that define curls. Nothing too moisturising to weigh down hair, but products to add volume might be of interest.

 

 

 

Type 1 – Straight hair

1c hair

This is type 1C – Could be described as straight with body. Doesn’t fall entirely straight, has a slight wave pattern at the ends. Individual strands tend to be thick and course.

What should I use on my hair? – This hair is brilliant when air dried as it dries in to shape. Try to avoid too much heat from straightening or curling. A light balancing shampoo and conditioner is great for this hair type, and again volumising products may be of interest.

 

1b

This is type 1B – Hair is not completely flat, will hold a curl if tonged unlike 1A. Type 1B has sporadic bends here and there, and the ends have a slight curl finish. Most common of Type 1 hair types is 1B. Normally on the finer side.

What should I use on my hair? – Products to provide volume, extremely light mousses and gels. Regular washing to keep it bouncy and fresh as hair type is prone to getting incredibly greasy. Shampoos and conditioners to control oil.

 

 

 

1a hair

This is type 1A – Completely bone straight, is hard to curl and keep a defined curl throughout the day, although normally fine, can also be thick making it stay straight. This hair type is normally found amongst Asian Oriental ladies.

What should I use on my hair? – Since the hair strands are completely straight, natural oils from the scalp can easily make its way down all the way to ends of hair. It is therefore prone to being greasy. Shampoos to help balance sebum production, or anti-fungal are great options.

 

 

 

Relaxed Hair

2015-02-05 10.30.20

I wanted to add relaxed hair to this list because of course my hair is relaxed, and although it is useful to know my natural hair type, my relaxed hair has a different curl pattern to its original state. The best way to define your hair type when hair is relaxed is to see what it is like after washing and air drying. Hair must be squeaky clean however, so seeing how it is after using a clarifying shampoo would be a good idea. Additionally towel drying, blow drying and certain products can manipulate the texture of hair when dry, so if brave enough, try it when using nothing then treat hair accordingly when you know exactly what your true hair type is.

 

I hope this was an informative post for everyone. I have been learning about this for years, so if you have any questions please feel free to ask me by leaving a comment or through contact me page if you want.

 

Ta rah for now, shall hopefully see you Saturday for my beauty post for the week 🙂

*I do not own any of the pictures accept the one of me – found on google

 

8 thoughts on “What should “I” be using on my hair?

Leave a Reply

