Deep Conditioners

I remember when my mum first brought her hair salon, I used to find sitting under the dryer and getting a treatment the most exciting thing in the world. Being under the dryer and reading a magazine made me feel so grown up and womanly. After a few years of doing this, I unfortunately started to get really bored of it. Although it made my hair soft and manageable, the process of washing my hair, sitting under the heater for 30 minutes to an hour, washing it out, blow drying and then straightening started to feel like too much effort. So for a very long time I stopped. After getting in to organic products, I found my current hairdresser Lady who quickly became one of the only people in London who I allowed to touch and treat my hair after so much disappointment elsewhere. Whenever I got my hair relaxed, she would deep condition it as part of the overall process – there was no option to skip this step. Lady stressed the importance of treating my hair regularly and I eventually understood after years of doing it, why it is so important to treat/ deep condition hair which I am about to share with you all today.

I explained all the different hair types from type 4c to 1a in a previous post. I am going to explain why hair types 3 and 4, plus relaxed or chemically treated hair need to invest more time and effort in to hair to achieve the best length and health results possible. Type 1 and 2 hair in general have a lot more density per strand then that of type 3 and 4 which I am sure not a lot of people would have imagined. This is what makes afro/coily/kinky/frizzy hair a lot more fragile then that of Caucasian/Asian hair. The density of type 1 and 2 hair is what makes hair fall straighter as it is generally heavier. This allows the natural oils produced by the scalp to work its way down each strand easily. It is these natural oils that help to keep hair healthy, shiny and strong allowing it to grow healthily. It is thought that if every type 1 and 2 left more time between washes, applied no heat, or chemicals and kept hair hydrated and cared for, it is quite easy for their hair to grow to great lengths. Type 3 and type 4 hair have to work a lot harder to gain these results as hair strands are not as dense, making them more fragile and prone to breakage. With each curl pattern on each strand, there is a potential breaking point. It is harder for oil from scalp to make its way down the hair. This is why it is so important for type 3’s and 4s to always keep hair as moist as possible.

Relaxed, Chemically coloured hair and heat damaged hair in a similar way, requires more moisture in hair. When chemically inducing hair, strands split, and hair follicle becomes wider. This leads on again to more fragile and dry hair. Too much heat on hair strands blocks the natural flow of oil down each strand because the cuticle expands trapping natural oil flow.

Plugging in moisture and additional protein for hair is so important if your hair is any of the above. The body is made up of 60% water so it is recommendable to drink a lot of water to help the body flow (which I will be speaking more about on Saturdays beauty Post). In the same way, the hair is made up of protein, so it is recommendable to add more in order to strengthen hair. Just like drinking too much water can have the opposite affect on the body, so can adding too much protein to the hair.

The best and easiest way to plug both moisture and protein back in to hair is by deep conditioning it. When treatment is added to the hair and is enveloped in natural heat, the hair follicles begin to open allowing for the product to penetrate the scalp and hair. This aids in hair achieving the absolute best results. Natural heat is created by the use of hot towels (optional), a heat cap (optional) and a shower cap or cling film (necessary). I have recently decided to start air drying my hair which can make it feel more brittle. Because of this, I have started too deep condition it every time I wash it which has really been helping.

Here are my favourites.

Protein

aveda treatment hair mayonnaise vatika

 

I love all three of these protein conditioners. Aveda damage remedy intensive treatment is a slight winner however, as it is an organic formula and the results are second to none. It Leaves hair shiny, manageable and moist. You can feel and see the difference and results are long lasting. It does have a hefty price tag, but honestly if I could afford it I would probably have that as my staple. Picture taken from amazon.com.

Organics Hair Mayonnaise is a relatively organic formula, it again leaves hair healthy, soft and shiny. A very good treatment that I really like that is a lot more affordable. Picture taken from pakcosmetics.com

Vatika Naturals Egg Protein Deep Conditioning Hair Mask again is a brilliant treatment. Is a lot lighter than the hair mayonnaise, therefore leaves hair a little bit more bouncy. Great for Summer. It also leaves hair super soft and enjoyable to touch. Picture taken from superdrug.com

If you want to make up your own deep protein treatment, you can. I have personally never tried it before, but I know people who have. You will need

  1. 1 Egg
  2. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  3.  1 tbsp. Mayonnaise
  4. 1 tbsp. Coconut Cream

Will leave hair soft and smooth after roughly an hour after application.

 

Oil

vatika oil macadamia natural oil deep repair masque

 

I have recently tried the Vatika Black Seed Oil. I would wash my hair, condition it, our this on my hair evenly, place a shower cap over it. Leave for over an hour and rinse it out. My hair has been shinier than ever. It smells quite nice, is relatively light and easy to wash out. My only draw back is it doesn’t retain moisture for as long as the macadamia oil next to it, but it is very good if you wash your hair quite regularly like I am at the moment. Picture taken from pakcosmetics.com

The Macadamia Natural Oil Deep Repair Masque is fantastic! It has been a favourite for a while. Is perfect for those with type 4 hair, or if you need a good amount of moisture to combat a lot of damage. It smells lovely, and leaves hair shiny, soft and moveable. Really love this one. More of a winter favourite for me as my hair is relaxed. Picture taken from amazon.com

Again, you can make your own oil treatment. You will need:

  1. Neem Oil
  2. Jojoba/Argon/Baobab oil (from left to right depending on thickness/dryness of hair)
  3. Rosemary Oil
  4. Extra Virgin Olive Oil (carrier oil)
  5. Organic Aloe Vera Juice (optional)

Making your own is great, as each oil serves a specific purpose to the well being of hair. Neem and Rosemary is great for stimulating the scalp and encouraging growth. Number 2 oil is brilliant for its moisturising properties. Prevents brittleness and split ends. Extra Virgin Olive Oil helps to sustain longevity of treatment. Aloe Vera softens hair and makes it light and bouncy – great for Summer.

 

General Hair Health

cholesterol conditioning mask

This is a highly effective hair conditioner for relaxed and/or colour treated hair. Adds enough strength and moisture to hair without weighing it down or making it greasy. Leaves hair shiny, frizz free and healthy. Picture taken from superdrug.com

 

I hope this post was informative and you enjoyed reading. Please let me know your secrets and tricks to moisturised hair, I would love to hear them. Otherwise, I hope you enjoy your week. Hopefully see you soon on my up and coming posts.

Leave a Reply

